Vietnam map: locations and geography of different provinces

Vietnam is a Southeast Asian country belonging to the Indochinese peninsula. Currently, Vietnam has 63 provinces and cities, including 58 provinces and 5 cities (Hanoi, Hai Phong, Da Nang, Ho Chi Minh City, Can Tho), with the capital of Hanoi.

Join us to study the Vietnam map with useful information on natural, cultural, and socio-economic features.

Vietnam map

Vietnam map
Vietnam map (source: internet) – click here to see a bigger map 750k pdf

A general overview of Vietnam’s geography

Vietnam maps are always updated to provide detailed information relevant to the reality and development situation of all localities in the country.

First of all, the total population of Vietnam, following the latest data updated in 2020, is more than 97 million people and has the 15th highest population density in the world on a natural area of ​​331,698 km2.

The terrain of Vietnam is mainly hills and mountains, accounting for a quarter of the area, while the plain and midland terrain accounts for only a quarter of the country.

Mountainous City Dalat Vietnam
A mountainous Da Lat City of Vietnam | © Quangpraha/pixabay

Therefore, the majority of provinces and cities in Vietnam have quite diverse natural topography, and economic zones are also divided by topography.

Based on geographical features, Vietnam’s geographic map has 3 regions, including North, Central and South, and 7 key economic areas of the country.

Map of Northern provinces and cities

North Vietnam is considered the heart of the country, covering the political, economic, and cultural center, typically owning the Hanoi capital.

north vietnam map
North Vietnam Map (cut from the above map)

Based on the natural topography and economic characteristics of each area, the North continues to be divided into three key economic regions, including the following specific provinces:

The Northwest includes 6 provinces: Hoa Binh, Son La, Dien Bien, Lai Chau, Lao Cai, and Yen Bai.

The Red River Delta consists of 10 provinces and cities: Hanoi, Ha Nam, Ninh Binh, Bac Ninh, Hai Duong, Hai Phong, Hung Yen, Nam Dinh, Thai Binh, and Vinh Phuc.

The Northeast includes 9 provinces of Ha Giang, Cao Bang, Bac Can, Lang Son, Tuyen Quang, Thai Nguyen, Phu Tho, Bac Giang, and Quang Ninh.

halong bay quang ninh
Halong Bay in Quang Ninh Province | © falco/pixabay

Map of Central Provinces

Similar to the North, the provinces of Central Vietnam are one of the seven vital regions of the country, divided into three smaller economic areas.

The North Central region includes 6 provinces: Thanh Hoa, Nghe An, Ha Tinh, Quang Binh, Quang Tri, and Thua Thien – Hue.

north central vietnam map
North Central Vietnam Map (cut from the big map)

South Central Coast includes 8 provinces: Da Nang, Quang Nam, Quang Ngai, Binh Dinh, Phu Yen, Khanh Hoa, Ninh Thuan, Binh Thuan.

South Central Vietnam Map
South Central Coast Vietnam Map (cut from the big one)

The Central Highlands is the largest plateau area in Vietnam, covering 5 provinces stretching from North to South, namely Kon Tum, Gia Lai, Dak Lak, Dak Nong, and Lam Dong.

Central Highlands Vietnam Map
Central Highlands Vietnam Map (cut from the big one)

Map of Southern provinces and cities

The last region of the Vietnam map is the South, including two vital economic regions, the Southeast and the South West.

With typical features of South Vietnam, it creates strong development potentials for the whole South of the country.

South Vietnam Map
South Vietnam Map (cut from the big one)

The Southeast (also known as the East) includes 1 city and 5 provinces: Ho Chi Minh City, Ba Ria – Vung Tau, Binh Duong, Binh Phuoc, Dong Nai, and Tay Ninh.

The Southwest is also the Mekong Delta region, including a centrally-run city, Can Tho, and the 12 remaining provinces of Long An, Tien Giang, Ben Tre, Vinh Long, Tra Vinh, Hau Giang, Soc Trang, Dong Thap, An Giang, Kien Giang, Bac Lieu, and Ca Mau.

Each province on the Vietnam map has its own characteristics. But, all places in Vietnam constitute resources for the economic development of the country.

The above is a statistic of some economic, social, geographic information about different regions across the country, hoping to give you more useful information and an overview of the provinces and cities in Vietnam.

Frequently asked questions about Vietnam map

1. How does the Vietnam map look like?

When you want to find Vietnam on the world map, look for a country shaped like a letter S, which is Vietnam.

The north is large, the middle part is small and gradually widen to the south.

2. Where is the narrowest place on the map of Vietnam?

The narrowest area of the east-west direction locates in Quang Binh in central Vietnam, where has a beautiful paradise cave.

This region owns a width of about 41km from the Laos-Vietnam border to the East Sea.

3. Which province in Vietnam has the largest acreage?

Many people think that Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh is the largest, but that is not the case. Those two cities have the biggest populations.

However, Nghe An province is the largest one in Vietnam with a total area of 16493 km2.

In terms of location, Nghe An province locates in the North Central region, bordering Thanh Hoa to the north, Ha Tinh to the south, the East Sea to the east, and Laos to the west.

4. Which is the longest road in Vietnam?

The National Highway 1A or QL1A is the main road along Vietnam with a length of 2,360km, which is the longest street in the country.

Highway 1A starts from the Huu Nghi border of Vietnam and China in the north and ends at Nam Can District, Ca Mau Province in Mekong Delta.

About the author

The editorial staff of Vietnamdrive is a team of travel experts managed by Mr. Thom who has worked in tourism for 14 years. Trusted by thousands of tourists from all over the world.